





# Fifth Annual Workshop on Greenhouse Gas Emission Trading:

27<sup>th</sup> – 28<sup>th</sup> September 2005

IEA Headquarters 9 Rue de la Fédération, 75015 Paris Métro Bir-Hakeim (Line 6), RER C - Champ de Mars – Tour Eiffel http://www.iea.org/textbase/about/map.asp

# Tuesday, 27 September 2005

# 9.00 Opening remarks

William C. Ramsay, Deputy Executive Director, International Energy Agency (IEA); Andrei Marcu, Executive Director, International Emissions Trading Association (IETA); Tom Wilson, Senior Technical Leader, Electric Power Research Institute (EPRI).

# 9.15 – 11.10 Country Roundtable: Summary of recent developments on emission trading

# Chair: Rick Bradley, IEA

State representatives are invited to speak for 3 minutes on relevant emission trading issues in their country. A summary of each report will be made available to the participants at the meeting.

# 11.10 – 11.35 Coffee Break

# 11.35 – 13.00 Session 2 – Market news

Chair: Andrei Marcu, IETA Brokers, buyers and sellers will report on their views on the market this year. Stefan Judisch (RWE Trading) Commentators: Garth Edwards (Shell), Louis Redshaw (Barclays Capital), Jorund Buen (PointCarbon)

# 13.00 – 14.30 Lunch break

# **14.30 – 15.50** Session 3 – Emissions Trading & Compatibility with Future International Architectures

Chair: Tom Wilson, EPRI Murray Ward (GTripleC, New Zealand) Commentators: Toshiyuki Sakamoto (METI), Dan Gagnier (Alcan), Regina Betz (Centre for Energy and Environmental Markets)

#### 15.50 – 16.20 Coffee Break

#### 16.20 – 18.00 Session 4 – Industry: their experience with emissions trading

Chair: Richard Baron, IEA Issues including: electricity pricing, investment incentives David Harrison Jr. (NERA), William Kyte (E.ON UK), Daniela Schreiber (Europressedienst) Commentator: Peter Zapfel (European Commission)

#### Cocktail: sponsored by IETA

#### Wednesday 28 September 2005

#### 9.00 – 11.00 Session 5 – Extending the coverage of domestic systems

Chair: Tom Wilson, EPRI Rich Rosenzweig (Natsource), Chris Leigh (Defra UK), Philippe Joppart (ACI– Europe Region), Alessandro Profili (Alcoa)

#### 11.00 – 11.30 Coffee Break

#### 11.30 – 13.30 Session 6 – Progress on Project Mechanisms

Chair: Andrei Marcu, IETA Vladimir Berdin (Russia), Maurits Blanson-Henkemans (Netherlands), Marco Monroy (MGM), Marcela Main (CONAMA, Chile), Laurent Segalen (ECF)

#### 13.30 – 14.45 Lunch break

#### 14.45 – 16.00 Wrap-up roundtable

Chair: Richard Bradley, IEA Rob Fowler (New South Wales), Gordon Lambert (Suncor), Harald Dovland (Norway), Lee Solsbery (ERM)

#### 16.00 Closing remarks

Noé Van Hulst, Director, Office of Long Term Cooperation and Policy Analysis, IEA Andrei Marcu, Executive Director, IETA Tom Wilson, Senior Technical Leader, EPRI