Special Activities

Brouwer medal ceremony on Monday and Welcome Reception

During 5ECM also the yearly meeting of the Dutch Royal Mathematical Society (KWG) is held. Once every three years during this meeting the Brouwer medal is awarded. As it happens, 2008 is such a year. The Brouwer medal ceremony with a laudatio for the prize winner and the lecture by the prize winner will be held on Monday evening. The Brouwer medal ceremony will be closed by a welcome reception for the participants and accompanying persons of 5ECM.

L.E.J. Brouwer was perhaps The Netherlands' most distinguished mathematician. Shortly after his death in 1966, the KWG and the Royal Netherlands Academy of Sciences established a tri-annual event that is often referred to as the Brouwer prize. To that purpose, once every three years the KWG chooses an important field in mathematics and an expert committee then selects a lecturer from that field. The selected person presents this lecture during the annual Dutch Mathematical Congress and then he or she receives the golden Brouwer memorial medal. The Brouwer lecture with the Brouwer medal is The Netherlands' most prestigious award in mathematics and it also enjoys great international prestige.

Previous laureates were:

R. Thom on Topology (1970), A. Robinson on Foundations (1973),

A. Borel on Lie groups (1978), H. Kesten on Probability Theory (1981),

J. Moser on Analysis (1984), Y. Manin on Number Theory (1987),

W.M. Wonham on Control Theory (1990), L. Lovász on Discrete Mathematics (1993),
W. Hackbusch on Numerical Mathematics (1996), G. Lusztig on Algebra (1999),
M. Aizenman on Mathematical Physics (2002), and L. Birgé on Mathematical Statistics (2005).

For 2008 the field of Geometry has been chosen. The name of the recipient of the 2008 Brouwer medal will be announced later.

During the afternoon program of Monday, D. van Dalen (Utrecht University), will present a historical lecture about life and work of Brouwer.

Will be embedded in the congress program. Date: Monday 14 July 2008 Time: to be announced Location: to be announced

BEEGER LECTURE

Every two years during the meeting of the KWG, the Beeger lecture is presented. As it happens, 2008 is a Beeger year, so this lecture will be presented during 5ECM. The purpose of the Beeger Lecture is to promote research and exchange of ideas in Algorithmic and Computational Number Theory.

Dr. N.G.W.H. Beeger was a Dutch high-school teacher and mathematician who lived from 1884-1965. Beeger had good contacts with the Mathematical Centre in Amsterdam (now called CWI), and he bequeathed part of his inheritance to this research institute. The returns of this legacy are meant to cover the expenses of the biennial Beeger Lecture.

Previous Beeger Lectures were given by Carl Pomerance in 1992, Hugh Williams (1994), John Conway (1996), Hendrik Lenstra, Jr. (1998), Peter Borwein (2000), Bjorn Poonen (2002), Manjul Bhargava (2004), and Manindra Agrawal (2006).

The name of the 2008 Beeger Lecturer will be announced later.

Will be embedded in the congress program. **Date:** Thursday 17 July 2008 **Time:** to be announced **Location:** to be announced

CONGRESS PARTY

The Wednesday evening will be reserved for the Congress Party. We plan to arrange a nice evening to socialize with your colleagues, and to enjoy typically Dutch food in a nice atmosphere. Join us and the other delegates from around the world on this pleasant evening. We hope to convince you during the evening that "Dutch treats" can be very nice indeed!

Will be embedded in the congress program. **Date:**Wednesday 16 July 2008 **Time:** to be announced **Location:** to be announced **Price:** €55,00