

## New York Library Association

6021 State Farm Road, Guilderland, NY 12084 518-432-6952 | 518-427-1697 FAX info@nyla.org | www.nyla.org

## 2015 Inductees to the NYS Writers Hall of Fame Announced

Noted writers Francine Prose, David Remnick, and Colm Toibin are among the seven members of the 2015 Class of Inductees into the NYS Writers Hall of Fame. The three authors will be in attendance at the induction on Tuesday, June 2, 2015, at the Princeton Club of New York. Rocco Staino, who serves as the Director of the Empire State Center for the Book, made the announcement on February 5, 2014, at the New York Library Association headquarters in Guilderland, NY. The Center for the Book is the organization that oversees the Hall of Fame. In addition, four deceased writers, Isaac Asimov, Allen Ginsberg, Ezra Jack Keats, and Dawn Powell, will be inducted.

"Each year our committee has the difficult task of selecting a variety of writers who represent the rich literary history of our state," said Rocco Staino, the center for the book director. "I hope that the public will take the time to revisit the works of all our inductees and join us at the induction."

The full list of the 2015 inductees is as follows:

Isaac Asimov (1920 – 1992) - Master of the science fiction genre, he wrote and edited over 500 books in a wide range of subjects.

Allen Ginsberg (1926 – 1997) - A poet who was a major figure in the beat generation.

Ezra Jack Keats (1916 – 1983) – Author and illustrator of children's books who is credited with introducing multiculturalism into children's literature.

Dawn Powell (1896 – 1965) - Writer of comic novels who was a vital part of the literary Greenwich Village from the 1920's to the 1960's.

Francine Prose (1947-) – Author of more than twenty works of fiction, a National Book Award finalist, and a former president of PEN American Center.

David Remnick (1958-) – A journalist, editor, and Pulitzer Prize winner who is currently the editor-in-chief of The New Yorker.

Colm Toibin (1955- ) - Novelist, short story writer, essayist, playwright, journalist, critic, and poet.

This year's nominees into the NYS Writers Hall of Fame were chosen by a selection committee comprised of Harold Augenbraum, Executive Director of the National Book Foundation; Jeffrey Cannell, Deputy Commissioner for Cultural Education of the New York State Education Department; Barbara Genco, retired librarian from Brooklyn Public Library and Editor of Collection Management at Media Source; Brian Kenney, Director of the White Plains Public Library; Stefanie Peters of the Library of America, Kathleen Masterson, Director of the Literature Program at the New York State Council on the Arts; Christine McDonald, retired director of the Crandall Library, Glens Falls; Bertha Rogers, Executive Director of Bright Hill Press & creator of the New York State Literary website and map; Charlene Rue, Brooklyn & New York Public Libraries Book Ops; and Rocco Staino, Director of the Empire State Center for the Book.

Plans are underway to house the NYS Writers Hall of Fame at the New York State Library in Albany. The Empire State Center for the Book is part of the Library of Congress Center for the Book and is currently housed at the New York Library Association.

For additional information on the Empire State Center for the Book and the Writers Hall of fame, please contact Rocco Staino at the New York Library Association 1-800-252-NYLA or <a href="mailto:rocco.staino@gmail.com">rocco.staino@gmail.com</a>.