The 52 members of the IEEE Fellow Committee are all IEEE Fellows representing the 10 IEEE Regions, 46 IEEE Societies/Technical Councils and various affiliations.

The IEEE Fellow Committee is responsible for making recommendations to the IEEE Board of Directors for nominees to be elevated to the grade of Fellow.

IEEE Fellow Committee Members

The 2018 Fellow Committee Members

Chair:

Stefano Galli

2012

for contributions to theory, practice, and standardization of power line communication networks

Vice Chair:

Tariq Samad

2005

for leadership in industrial applications of intelligent control systems

Members:

David Allstot (Life Fellow)

1992

for contributions to the analysis and design of switched-capacitor and analog integrated circuit

Nirwan Ansari

2009

for contributions to broadband networks and communications

David Bader

2010

for contributions to parallel algorithms for combinatorial problems and computational biology

Supriyo Bandyopadhyay

2005

for contributions to device applications of nanostructures

Piero Bonissone (Life Fellow)

2004

for leadership in the development of artificial and computational intelligence technologies and their applications to real-world problems

Gerard Capolino

2002

for contributions to modeling, simulation, and control techniques applied to power electronics and electrical drive

Babu Chalamala

2014

for contributions to the development of advanced materials and device technologies for vacuum microelectronics and field emission displays

Djalma Falcao (Life Fellow)

2004

for contributions to power system engineering education

Bijoy Ghosh

2000

for fundamental contributions to systems theory with applications to robust control, vision and multisensor fusion

Jay Giri (Life Fellow)

2002

for contributions to the design and implementation of power system control centers

Maria Greco

2011

for contributions to non-Gaussian radar clutter modeling and signal processing algorithms

Abdelsalam Sumi Helal

2015

for contributions to pervasive and mobile computing systems

Hideto Hidaka

2017

for leadership in high-density memory technologies for automotive applications

Joseph Hughes

2007

for contributions to engineering education program development, assessment, and accreditation activities

Hamid Jafarkhani

2006

for contributions to space-time coding

Pooi-Yuen Kam

2010

for contributions to receiver design and performance analysis for wireless communications

Mark Karol

1993

for contributions to the theory, design, and analysis of high-performance packet switches and multiuser lightwave communication networks

Ashfaq Khokhar

2009

for contributions to multimedia computing and database systems

James Knighten (Life Fellow)

2009

for contributions to understanding electromagnetic noise coupling paths for product compliance with regulatory standards

Sy-Yen Kuo

2001

for contributions to dependable computing and software reliability engineering

Hideo Kuwahara (Life Fellow)

2006

for contributions to high capacity optical fiber communication technologies

Jae Hong Lee

2011

for contributions to high-speed wireless communication systems

Wei-Jen Lee

2007

for contributions to engineering education and power system analysis

Yong Lian (Peter)

2009

for contributions to the design of low-power high-performance digital filters

Leda Lunardi

2002

for contributions to the development of high-performance 1.55 um monolithically integrated photoreceiver for optical communication

Vahid Madani

2008

for leadership in power system protection, control for wide-area systems, and modular protection automation

Diana Marculescu

2015

for contributions to design and optimization of energy-aware computing systems

Subhasish Mitra

2013

for contributions to design and test of robust integrated circuits

John Norgard (Life Fellow)

1990

for the application of infrared thermography to the measurement of electromagnetic field

Dalma Novak

2007

for contributions to enabling technologies for the implementation of fiber radio systems

Douglas O'Shaughnessy

2006

for contributions to education in speech processing and communication

Erdal Panayirci (Life Fellow)

2003

for contributions to carrier symbol synchronization and channel estimation in digital communications

Sundaram Ramesh

2015

for contributions to entrepreneurship in engineering education

Nalini Ratha

2007

for contributions to biometric authentication systems

Hikmet Sari

1995

for contributions to advanced signal processing in digital microwave radio system

Tapan Sarkar (Life Fellow)

1992

for contributions to iterative solutions of numerical models in electromagnetic theory

Donatella Sciuto

2011

for contributions to embedded system design

Gianluca Setti

2006

for contributions to application of nonlinear dynamics to communications, signal processing, and information technology

Joseph E. Silva

2010

for contributions to Complimentary Metal-Oxide Semiconductor transconductance amplifiers and continuous-time filters

Morris Sloman

2011

for contributions to adaptive policy based management of distributed and pervasive systems

Akihiko Sugiyama

2011

for contributions to speech and audio signal processing

Joos Vandewalle (Life Fellow)

1992

for contributions to the mathematics of nonlinear circuits and systems

Bo Wahlberg

2007

for contributions to system identification using orthonormal basis functions

Albert Wang

2009

for contributions to design-for-reliability and system-on-chip

Peter Willett

2003

for contributions to detection, target tracking, and signal processing

Gary Yen

2009

for contribution to intelligent systems and control

Aylin Yener

2015

for contributions to wireless communication theory and wireless information security

Daniel Yeung

2004

for contributions to sensitivity analysis of neural networks and fuzzy expert systems

Junku Yuh

2005

for contributions to autonomous underwater robots

Yuan-Fang Zheng (Life Fellow)

1997

for contributions to the development of mechanisms for coordination of multiple robots and manipulators

Alternates:

Kazuhiro Kosuge Jinhu Lu Anthony Maciejewski Bruce Strauss Earl Swartzlander