

DESIGN**AUTOMATION** CONFERENCE

## Marie R. Pistilli Women in EDA Achievement Award

**Louise Trevillyan** - Research Staff Member, Design Automatin Dept., IBM T. J. Watson Research Center For her significant conrtibutions in helping women advance in the field of EDA technology.

## P.O. Pistilli Undergraduate Scholarships for Advancement in Computer Science and Electrical Engineering

The objective of the P.O. Pistilli Scholarship program is to increase the pool of professionals in Electrical Engineering, Computer Engineering, and Computer Science from under-represented groups (women, African American, Hispanic, Native American, and physically challenged). In 1989, ACM Special Interest Group on Design Automation (SIGDA) began providing the program. Beginning in 1993, the Design Automation Conference provided the funds for the scholarship and SIGDA continues to administer the program for DAC. DAC normally funds two or more \$4000 scholarships, renewable up to five years, to graduating high school seniors.

The 2008 winners are:

Tiffany Lynn Stokley - Univ. of Richmond, VA Samantha Jo Skinger - Carnegie Mellon Univ., Pittsburgh, PA

For more information about the P.O. Pistilli scholarship, contact Cherrice Traver - ECE Dept., Union College, Schenectady, NY 12308. email: traverc@union.edu.

# A. Richard Newton Graduate Scholarships

The DAC Executive Committee has chosen to name our existing DAC Graduate Scholarships after the late Professor A. Richard Newton. We feel that supporting young faculty and graduate research is an appropriate way to honor his vision and carry out some of his goals. Each year the Design Automation Conference sponsors several \$24,000 scholarships to support graduate research and study in Design Automation (DA), with emphasis in "design and test automation of electronic and computer systems". Each scholarship is awarded directly to a Univ. for the Faculty Investigator to expend in direct support of one or more DA graduate students. The criteria for granting such a scholarship expanded in 1996 to include financial need. The criteria are: the academic credentials of the student(s); the quality and applicability of the proposed research; the impact of the award on the DA program at the institution; and financial need. Preference is given to institutions that are trying to establish new DA research programs.

#### Advisor:

Janet Meiling Wang - Univ. of Arizona, Tucson, AZ Students:

### Alexander V. Mitev, Jin Sun

Modeling and Analysis of Analog/Mixed-signal Designs with CMOS Device Mismatch due to Process Variations

#### Advisor:

**Sangyeun Cho** - *Univ. of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA* **Students:** 

## Hyunjin Lee, Musfiq Niaz Rahman

Bridging Technology Fragility and Next-Generation Many-Core Processor Architectures and Systems Research 2007 Phil Kaufman Award for Distinguished

# **Contributions to EDA**

Sponsored by the EDA Consortium and IEEE Council on EDA

**Dr. Robert K. Brayton,** Cadence Distinguished Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, Univ. of California, Berkeley, CA

Robert K. Brayton is the recipient of the prestigious 2007 Phil Kaufman Award for his contributions to logic synthesis and formal verification which have aided the development of today's complex chips.

## 2008 IEEE Emanuel R. Piore Award

**Dr. Richard F. Rashid** - Microsoft Corp., Redmond, WA

For contribution the design of modern operating systems, and for innovation and leadership in industrial research.

#### 2008 IEEE Fellows

Nikil Dutt - Univ. of California, Irvine, CA
For contributions to architecture description languages
for the design and exploration of customized processors.
Laung-Terng Wang - SynTest Tech., Inc.,
Sunnyvale, CA

For leadership in practical design-for-test of integrated circuits.

#### **ACM Turing Award**

**Edmund M. Clarke -** Carnegie Mellon Univ., Pittsburgh, PA

E. Allen Emerson - Univ. of Texas, Austin, TX Joseph Sifakis - CNRS-Verimag Laboratory, Gieres, France

For their role in developing model-checking into a highly effective verification technology, widely adopted in the hardware and software industries.

#### **ACM Fellow**

**Donald E. Thomas -** *Carnegie Mellon Univ., Pittsburgh, PA* 

For contributions to computer-aided design of integrated circuits and systems.

## **Outstanding Contribution to ACM Award**

**Robert Walker** - *Kent State Univ., Kent, OH*For a sustained record of dedicated and conscientious leadership within the ACM Special Interest Groups, including service as Chair of the SIG Governing Board, Chair of SIGDA, SGB Representative to Council, as well as leadership in ACM conference organization.

# **SIGDA Distinguished Service Award**

**Sung Kyu Lim** - *Georgia Institute of Tech., Atlanta, GA*For exemplary service to ACM/SIGDA and the Design
Automation Conference as director of the Univ. Booth
program.

#### **SIGDA Outstanding New Faculty Award**

**Subhasish Mitra** - *Stanford Univ.*, *Palo Alto*, *CA*For a junior faculty member early in his/her academic career who demonstrates outstanding potential as an educator and/or researcher in the field of electronic design automation.

# ACM Transactions on Design Automation of Electronic Systems (TODAES) 2008 Best Paper Award

Disjunctive image computation for software verification ACM Transactions on Design Automation of Electronic Systems, Volume 12, Issue 2, April 2007, Article No. 10

Chao Wang, Franjo Ivančić, Aarti Gupta - NEC Labs, Princeton, NJ

**Zijiang Yang -** Western Michigan Univ., Kalamazoo, MI