

OPCW

Conference of the States Parties

Tenth Session 7 – 11 November 2005

C-10/3

9 November 2005

Original: ENGLISH

REPORT OF THE CREDENTIALS COMMITTEE ON THE CREDENTIALS OF REPRESENTATIVES TO THE TENTH SESSION OF THE CONFERENCE OF THE STATES PARTIES

1. Introduction

The Credentials Committee, consisting of Austria, Bangladesh, Cameroon, Colombia, Czech Republic, Finland, Guatemala, Hungary, Jordan, and Namibia, met under the chairmanship of H.E. Mr Ahmad Al-Hassan of Jordan, at 12:30 on Wednesday, 9 November 2005.

2. Examination of credentials

- 2.1 The Committee had before it a memorandum by the Director-General, dated 9 November 2005, concerning the presentation of credentials by Member States wishing to participate in the Tenth Session of the Conference of the States Parties. The Credentials Committee examined the credentials themselves, and verified the facts stated in the memorandum, which are as follows:
 - (a) Originals of credentials, in the form required by Rule 26 of the Rules of Procedure of the Conference, had been received from the following 100 Member States:

Algeria, Andorra, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Belarus, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Canada, China, Colombia, Côte d'Ivoire, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Ecuador, El Salvador, Ethiopia, Finland, France, Gabon, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Guatemala, Holy See, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kuwait, Lesotho, Libyan Arab Jamahiriya, Lithuania, Luxemburg, Malaysia, Mexico, Monaco, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Romania, Russian Federation, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia and Montenegro, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Tunisia, Turkey, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United Republic of Tanzania, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Venezuela, Viet Nam and Zimbabwe.

(b) Faxes or copies of credentials, in the form required by Rule 26 of the Rules of Procedure of the Conference, had been received from the following 20 Member States:

Albania, Argentina, Armenia, Benin, Chile, Denmark, Estonia, Fiji, Georgia, Honduras, Iceland, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Latvia, Mauritius, Mongolia, Nigeria, Republic of Moldova, Sudan, Trinidad and Tobago, and United States of America.

2.2 The Credentials Committee was of the view that representatives of the Member States listed in 2.1(b) above should be permitted to participate provisionally in the Conference, pending the submission of the original versions of their credentials.

3. Report and recommendations to the Conference

- 3.1 Based on the foregoing, the Credentials Committee decided to report to the Conference that the credentials of the Member States referred to in subparagraphs 2.1(a) and 2.1(b) above were in the form required by Rule 26 of the Rules of Procedure of the Conference, and to recommend that the Conference:
 - (a) accept outright the credentials of representatives of the Member States listed in 2.1(a) above; and
 - (b) provisionally accept the credentials of representatives of the Member States listed in 2.1(b) above, pending the submission of the original versions.
- 3.2 The Credentials Committee unanimously adopted its report to the Conference and recommended that the Conference approve it.

---0---