

Conference of the States Parties

First Special Session

C-SS-1/2

22 April 2002

Original: ENGLISH

CREDENTIALS OF REPRESENTATIVES TO THE FIRST SPECIAL SESSION OF THE CONFERENCE OF THE STATES PARTIES

Report of the Credentials Committee

1. Introduction

- 1.1 On 14 May 2001, upon the proposal of the Chairman of the Conference, in accordance with Rule 27 of the Rules of Procedure of the Conference of the States Parties (C-I/3), the Conference appointed the following 10 Member States as members of the Credentials Committee for the Sixth Session: Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Croatia, Namibia, Panama, Saudi Arabia, Spain, Sudan and Yemen.
- 1.2 The Committee met on 17 May 2001 and elected the Representative of Bulgaria as its Chairman.
- 1.3 During its meeting on 22 April 2002, the Committee reviewed Chapter IV of the Rules of Procedure of the Conference, and noted in particular the following elements of Rule 26:
 - (a) credentials designate the representative of a Member State at a given session of the Conference:
 - (b) the credentials of each representative shall be submitted to the Director-General; and
 - (c) credentials shall be issued by the Head of State or Government or by the Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Member State concerned or by any other authority acting on their behalf.

2. Examination of credentials

2.1 The Committee had before it a memorandum by the Director-General, dated 22 April 2002, concerning the credentials of representatives of Member States participating in the First Special Session of the Conference. On the basis of that

memorandum, as of 12:00 hours on 22 April 2002, the Committee determined the following:

- (a) formal credentials, meeting the requirements of Rule 26 of the Rules of Procedure of the Conference, were submitted by 64 Member States: Albania, Algeria, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, China, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Estonia, Finland, France, Gabon, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Ireland, Italy, Japan, Kiribati, Kuwait, Latvia, Lithuania, Malaysia, Malta, Monaco, Morocco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Oman, Panama, Philippines, Portugal, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Republic of Moldova, Romania, Russian Federation, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United States of America, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Venezuela, Yemen, Yugoslavia and Zambia.
- (b) faxes or copies of formal credentials or other official communications concerning representatives were received from the following 43 Member States: Argentina, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Belarus, Benin, Botswana, Brunei Darussalam, Burkina Faso, Colombia, Côte d'Ivoire, Cuba, El Salvador, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Holy See, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Lesotho, Luxembourg, Mexico, Mongolia, Namibia, Nepal, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Pakistan, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Sri Lanka, the Sudan, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Viet Nam and Zimbabwe. In accordance with Rule 28 of the Rules of Procedure of the Conference, the representatives of these Member States are participating provisionally in the First Special Session pending the submission of credentials satisfying the requirements of Rule 26 of the Rules of Procedure of the Conference.
- 2.2 The Committee agreed that the credentials of the representatives of the Member States referred to in subparagraphs 2.1(a) and 2.1(b) above would be accepted, on the understanding that formal credentials for representatives of the Member States referred to in subparagraph 2.1(b) would be communicated to the Director-General as soon as possible.

3. Recommendation

The Committee unanimously adopted its report to the Conference, and recommended that the Conference approve it.

---0---