

Conference of the States Parties

First Special Session

C-SS-1/5

25 July 2002 Original: ENGLISH

REPORT OF THE FIRST SPECIAL SESSION OF THE CONFERENCE OF THE STATES PARTIES

1. Introduction

The following 113 States Parties participated in the First Special Session of the Conference of the States Parties (hereinafter the "Conference"): Albania, Algeria, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Belarus, Belgium, Benin, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Canada, Cameroon, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Côte d'Ivoire, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, El Salvador, Eritrea, Estonia, Ethiopia, Finland, France, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Guinea, Holy See, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Ireland, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kuwait, Latvia, Lesotho, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Monaco, Mongolia, Morocco, Namibia, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Republic of Moldova, Romania, Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Sweden, Switzerland, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Tunisia, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United States of America, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Venezuela, Viet Nam, Yemen, Yugoslavia, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

2. AGENDA ITEM ONE – Opening of the session

The First Special Session of the Conference was opened at 17:20 on 21 April 2002 by its Chairman, Ambassador Heinrich Reimann of Switzerland.

3. AGENDA ITEM TWO – Adoption of the agenda

3.1 On the recommendation of the General Committee, the Conference **adopted** the following agenda for its First Special Session:

AGENDA ITEM ONE – Opening of the session

AGENDA ITEM TWO - Adoption of the agenda

AGENDA ITEM THREE – Decision related to the tenure of the current Director-General of the Technical Secretariat

AGENDA ITEM FOUR – Any further action regarding the Technical Secretariat

AGENDA ITEM FIVE – Adoption of the report

AGENDA ITEM SIX - Closure

3.2 The Conference took note of the Note by the Director-General listing States Parties in arrears in the payment of their financial contributions to the OPCW for the preceding two full years, as of 22 April 2002 (C-SS-1/DG.4/Rev.1, dated 22 April 2002).

4. AGENDA ITEM THREE – Decision related to the tenure of the current Director-General of the Technical Secretariat

- 4.1 The Conference noted the statements by the Director-General (C-SS-1/DG.7 and C-SS-1/DG.8, dated 21 and 22 April 2002 respectively).
- 4.2 The Conference took note of the Note by the Director-General on the requirements of Financial Regulation 4.9 in relation to the draft decision under item 3 of the provisional agenda of the First Special Session of the Conference of the States Parties submitted by the United States of America (C-SS-1/DG.5, dated 21 April 2002). In light of this Note, Ambassador Noureddine Djoudi of Algeria, together with Ambassador Anne Gazeau-Secret of France and Ambassador Lionel Fernando of Sri Lanka were asked by the Chairman of the Conference to assess the financial implications of the proposed termination of the Director-General's appointment. After their examination of the relevant documentation, including the OPCW Staff Regulations and Interim Staff Rules, Ambassador Djoudi reported to the Conference that the assessed impact of the termination was EUR 217,335.12. The Conference took note affirmatively of this report.
- In accordance with Rules 67, 69 and 72 of its Rules of Procedure, the Conference 4.3 considered and adopted the decision under item three of the agenda of the special session of the Conference of the States Parties (C-SS-1/DEC.1, dated 22 April 2002), which received the two-thirds majority of members present and voting required by Rule 69 of the Rules of Procedure of the Conference. The following 48 members of the Conference supported this decision: Albania, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, India, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Kiribati, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nigeria, Norway, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Turkey, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United States of America, Uzbekistan, and Yugoslavia. The following seven members of the Conference opposed this decision: Belarus, Brazil, China, Cuba, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Mexico, Russian Federation. The following 43 members of the Conference abstained from voting on this decision: Algeria, Argentina, Bangladesh, Brunei Darussalam, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Côte d'Ivoire, Ecuador, Eritrea, Ethiopia, France, Holy See, Indonesia, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kuwait, Lesotho, Malaysia, Monaco, Mongolia, Morocco,

Namibia, Nepal, Oman, Pakistan, Panama, Peru, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates, Uruguay, Venezuela, Viet Nam, Yemen, Zambia, and Zimbabwe. Gabon and Ukraine were absent.

5. AGENDA ITEM FOUR – Any further action regarding the Technical Secretariat

- 5.1 The Conference considered and **adopted** the decision under item four of its agenda, inter alia, to reconvene the special session to appoint the new Director-General following the recommendation of the Council, no later than 10 June 2002 (C-SS-1/DEC.2, dated 24 April 2002). As such a recommendation was adopted by the Council only on 16 July 2002 at its Nineteenth Meeting, the Conference resumed its session on 25 July 2002.
- 5.2 At its resumed session, in accordance with Article VIII, paragraphs 21(d) and 43 of the Convention, and acting upon the recommendation of the Council (EC-M-19/DEC.1, dated 16 July 2002), the Conference **appointed** Mr Rogelio Pfirter by acclamation as the Director-General of the Technical Secretariat of the Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons, for a term of office beginning on 25 July 2002 and ending on 24 July 2006 (C-SS-1/DEC.3, dated 25 July 2002).
- 5.3 The Conference considered and **adopted** the decision on the terms of appointment of the Director-General (C-SS-1/DEC.4, dated 25 July 2002).

6. AGENDA ITEM FIVE – Adoption of the report of the Conference of the States Parties

- 6.1 The report of the Credentials Committee (C-SS-1/2, dated 22 April 2002) was presented by its Chairman, Ambassador Valentin Poriazov of Bulgaria. The Chairman orally reported that, following the close of the Credentials Committee meeting, formal credentials were received for the Representatives of Argentina, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Benin, Botswana, Brunei Darussalam, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Ethiopia, Ghana, Holy See, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Lesotho, Luxembourg, Mexico, Mongolia, , Nicaragua, Nigeria, Peru, Poland, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, South Africa, Sri Lanka, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Tunisia, Ukraine and Zimbabwe, and official communications were received regarding the representation of Bolivia, Guinea and Cameroon. Formal credentials will be submitted for the latter in due course. The Conference noted this additional information and approved the report.
- 6.2 The Conference considered and **adopted** the report of its First Special Session.

7. AGENDA ITEM SIX – Closure

The Chairman closed the First Special Session of the Conference at 12:40 hrs on 25 July 2002.