

Conference of the States Parties

Sixth Session 14 - 18 May 2001

18 May 2001 Original: ENGLISH

C-VI/4

CREDENTIALS OF REPRESENTATIVES TO THE SIXTH SESSION OF THE CONFERENCE OF THE STATES PARTIES

Report of the Credentials Committee

1. Introduction

- 1.1 On 14 May 2001, upon the proposal of the Chairman of the Conference, in accordance with Rule 27 of the Rules of Procedure of the Conference of the States Parties, the Conference appointed the following 10 Member States as members of the Credentials Committee for its Sixth Session: Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Croatia, Namibia, Panama, Saudi Arabia, Spain, Sudan and Yemen.
- 1.2 The Committee met on 17 May 2001 and elected His Excellency Mr Kamen Velichkov of Bulgaria as its Chairman.
- 1.3 During its meeting the Committee reviewed Chapter IV of the Rules of Procedure of the Conference, and noted in particular the following elements of Rule 26:
 - (a) credentials designate the representative of a Member State at a given session of the Conference;
 - (b) the credentials of each representative shall be submitted to the Director-General; and
 - (c) credentials shall be issued by the Head of State or Government or by the Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Member State concerned or by any other authority acting on their behalf.

2. Examination of credentials

2.1 The Committee had before it a memorandum by the Director-General, dated 17 May 2001, concerning the credentials of representatives of Member States participating in the Sixth Session of the Conference. On the basis of that memorandum, as of 17 May 2001, the Committee determined the following:

- formal credentials, meeting the requirements of Rule 26 of the Rules of (a) Procedure of the Conference, were submitted by 84 Member States: Algeria, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Benin, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Côte d'Ivoire, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Ecuador, Estonia, Ethiopia, Finland, France, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Holy See, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Jamaica, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kuwait, Latvia, Lithuania, Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Monaco, Morocco, Mozambique, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nigeria, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Panama, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Romania, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Togo, Trinidad and Tunisia, Turkey, Ukraine, United United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, Uzbekistan, Viet Nam and Yugoslavia;
- (b) faxes or copies of formal credentials or other official communications concerning representatives were received from the following 25 Member States: Armenia, Bolivia, Brunei Darussalam, Cameroon, Costa Rica, Denmark, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Ireland, Italy, Jordan, Luxembourg, Namibia, Nicaragua, Philippines, Republic of Moldova, Russian Federation, United States of America, Uruguay, Venezuela, Yemen, Zambia and Zimbabwe. In accordance with Rule 28 of the Rules of Procedure of the Conference, the representatives of these Member States are participating provisionally in the Sixth Session pending the submission of credentials satisfying the requirements of Rule 26 of the Rules of Procedure of the Conference.
- 2.2 The Committee agreed that the credentials of the representatives of the Member States referred to in subparagraphs 2.1(a) and (b) above would be accepted, on the understanding that formal credentials for representatives of the Member States referred to in subparagraph 2.1(b) would be communicated to the Director-General as soon as possible.

3. Recommendation

The Committee unanimously adopted its report to the Conference, and recommended that the Conference approve it.