

EB155/8 23 April 2024

Committees of the Executive Board: filling of vacancies

Report by the Director-General

1. In accordance with resolution EB61.R8 (1978), this report presents for the Programme, Budget and Administration Committee of the Executive Board, the Standing Committee on Health Emergency Prevention, Preparedness and Response, and the foundation selection panels and committees a table showing the members who will remain on the Executive Board after the closure of the Seventy-seventh World Health Assembly in June 2024 and the vacancies to be filled on each committee. It also deals with the appointment of representatives of the Executive Board to the Seventy-eighth World Health Assembly and the appointment of the ex officio members of the Programme, Budget and Administration Committee of the Executive Board.

2. According to the Board's consistent practice, if any member of a committee or group is unable to participate in a meeting of the committee or group, her or his successor or the alternate member of the Board designated by the State Member concerned, in accordance with Rule 2 of the Rules of Procedure of the Executive Board, will participate in the work of the committee or group.

PROGRAMME, BUDGET AND ADMINISTRATION COMMITTEE

3. According to decision EB146(5) (2020), the Programme, Budget and Administration Committee shall be composed of 14 members, two from each region, selected from among Executive Board members, as well as the Chair and a Vice-Chair of the Board, ex officio. There shall be two office-bearers: a Chair and a Vice-Chair. They shall be appointed from among Committee members, for a one-year term, or two sessions of the Committee, in the first instance (with a possibility of extending for a further year if they are still members of the Board). Committee members shall serve for a two-year period or until expiry of their membership of the Board, whichever is first. Subsequent appointments should, to the extent possible, be made with a view to renewing half the elected membership each year, that is, one member from each region.

Member	Selection criterion
Vacant	African Region
Dr Marie Khémesse Ngom Ndiaye (Senegal)	African Region
Vacant	Region of the Americas
Vacant	Region of the Americas
Vacant	South-East Asia Region
Dr Pak Jong Min (Democratic People's Republic of Korea)	South-East Asia Region
Vacant	European Region
Mr Andrei Cazacu (Republic of Moldova)	European Region
Dr Salih Ali Al-Marri (Qatar)	Eastern Mediterranean Region
Vacant	Eastern Mediterranean Region
Mr José Acacio (Australia)	Western Pacific Region
Vacant	Western Pacific Region
_	Chair of Executive Board (ex officio)
_	Vice-Chair of Executive Board (ex officio)

4. The present membership of the Programme, Budget and Administration Committee is:

STANDING COMMITTEE ON HEALTH EMERGENCY PREVENTION, PREPAREDNESS AND RESPONSE

5. Through decision EB151(2) (2022), the Executive Board established the Standing Committee on Health Emergency Prevention, Preparedness and Response and approved its terms of reference,¹ which set out that the Committee shall be composed of 14 members, two from each region, selected from among Executive Board members, as well as the Chair and a Vice-Chair of the Board, ex officio, in line with the principles set out in Rule 18 of the Rules of Procedure of the Executive Board reflecting a balanced representation of developed and developing countries. According to that decision, there shall be two office-bearers: a Chair and a Vice-Chair, who shall be appointed among the Committee members, in line with the principles set out in Rule 18 of the Rules of Procedure of the Executive Board, and shall serve for a one-year term. Members of the Standing Committee shall serve for a two-year period or until expiry of their membership of the Board, whichever is first.

¹ See document EB151/2022/REC/1, Annex 1.

Member	Selection criterion
Mr Selibe Mochoboroane (Lesotho)	African Region
Vacant	African Region
Ms Christine Harmston (Canada)	Region of the Americas
Vacant	Region of the Americas
Mr Ahmed Naseem (Maldives)	South-East Asia Region
Vacant	South-East Asia Region
Vacant	European Region
Vacant	European Region
Dr Abdelkrim Meziane Bellefquih (Morocco)	Eastern Mediterranean Region
Dr Qasem Mohammed Buhaibah (Yemen)	Eastern Mediterranean Region
Vacant	Western Pacific Region
Vacant	Western Pacific Region
_	Chair of Executive Board (ex officio)
_	Vice-Chair of Executive Board (ex officio)

6. The present membership of the Standing Committee on Health Emergency Prevention, Preparedness and Response is:

FOUNDATION COMMITTEES AND SELECTION PANELS

7. The Director-General is the administrator of nine foundation prizes and fellowships. The table below shows the committees or panels for which the Executive Board appoints members and the relevant vacancies.

Award	Foundation Committee/ Selection Panel	Executive Board member
Léon Bernard Foundation Prize	Chair of the Executive Board; Vice-Chairs of the Executive Board; member of the Executive Board from a Member State of the European Region	Dr Ala Nemerenco (Republic of Moldova)
Ihsan Doğramacı Family Health Foundation Prize	Chair of the Executive Board; Chair of the Board of Trustees of Bilkent University, Türkiye, or the Chair's appointee <u></u> ; a representative of the International Children's Center, Ankara	_
Sasakawa Health Prize	Chair of the Executive Board; member of the Executive Board; representative of the Founder	Mr Marcus Samo (Federated States of Micronesia)

Award	Foundation Committee/ Selection Panel	Executive Board member
United Arab Emirates Health Foundation Prize	Chair of the Executive Board; member of the Executive Board from a Member State of the Eastern Mediterranean Region; representative of the Founder	Dr Abdelkrim Meziane Bellefquih (Morocco)
State of Kuwait Health Promotion Foundation's – His Highness Sheikh Sabah Al-Ahmad Al-Jaber Al-Sabah Prize for Research in Health Care for the Elderly and in Health Promotion	Chair of the Executive Board; member of the Executive Board from a Member State of the Eastern Mediterranean Region; representative of the Founder	Vacant
Dr LEE Jong-wook Memorial Prize for Public Health	Chair of the Executive Board; member of the Executive Board; representative of the Founder	Vacant
Nelson Mandela Award for Health Promotion	Chair and the first Vice-Chair of the Executive Board; member of the Executive Board from a Member State of the African Region	Vacant

APPOINTMENT OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE EXECUTIVE BOARD TO THE SEVENTY-EIGHTH WORLD HEALTH ASSEMBLY, OF THE EX OFFICIO MEMBERS OF THE PROGRAMME, BUDGET AND ADMINISTRATION COMMITTEE OF THE EXECUTIVE BOARD AND OF THE EX OFFICIO MEMBERS OF THE STANDING COMMITTEE ON HEALTH EMERGENCY PREVENTION, PREPAREDNESS AND RESPONSE

8. In resolution EB59.R7 (1977), the Executive Board decided that the representatives of the Board at the Health Assembly shall be the Chair and three other members of the Board. In resolution EB61.R8 (1978) the Executive Board reaffirmed that representatives at the Health Assembly should be selected on the basis of their personal competence and previous attendance at one or more Health Assemblies, and that at least one of the Board's representatives should use a working language other than English or French. The Board may wish to consider appointing the Chair and three of the four Vice-Chairs to represent the Board at the Seventy-eighth World Health Assembly. The Vice-Chair who is not initially considered for appointment to represent the Board at the Seventy-eighth World Health Assembly shall serve as an ex officio member of the Programme, Budget and Administration Committee and the Standing Committee on Health Emergency Prevention, Preparedness and Response, along with the Chair of the Executive Board.

= = =