A voter in the Commonwealth has the option of casting a write-in vote for any office on the ballot in a general or special election § 24.2-644(C). The voter may write-in the name of any person. During canvass, the electoral board determines the total number of write-in votes for the office. If any of the threshold conditions described in the Code of Va. § 24.2-671 is met, the board will determine separate totals for each write-in candidate. Separate totals for write-in candidates for President of the United States are only determined if the write-in candidate also filed a Joint Declaration of Intent to be Write-In Candidates for President and Vice President. The list of those who filed is below.

- Robert L. Buchanan, President Jason A. Washington, Vice President
- Darrell Castle, President Scott Bradley, Vice President
- Scott Cubbler, President Michael Rodriguez, Vice President
- Cherunda Fox, President Roger M. Kushner, Vice President
- Roque "Rocky" De La Fuente, President Michael Steinberg, Vice President
- Ben Hartnell, President David E. Marshall, Vice President
- Tom Hoefling, President Steve Schulin, Vice President
- Chris Keniston, President Deacon Taylor, Vice President
- Laurence Kotlikoff, President Edward Leamer, Vice President
- Michael A. Maturen, President Juan A. Munoz, Vice President
- Michael B. Puskar, President *No running mate*
- Luis Ramos, President *No running mate*
- Robert D. Rice, President

No running mate

- Michael L. Smith, President Daniel L. White, Vice President
- Kora Roberta Katz Vakil, President *No running mate*
- Barbara Whitaker, President *No running mate*