HONORARY DEGREES COMMITTEE

REVIEW OF HONORARY DEGREES 2016

PURPOSE

To report on awards made under the University's honorary degrees program in 2016.

BACKGROUND

Since 2014 Deakin has:

- increased the number of honorary degrees it awards from 2-4 to 8-10 annually
- introduced the Deakin Honorary Doctorate and Honorary Master of Innovation to supersede the traditional nomenclature of Honorary Doctorate of Letters, Law, Science or the University
- increased awards to international recipients including by conferring awards in association with international visits.

Since 1 January 2016 all new awards have been Deakin Honorary Doctorates. The last award using the traditional nomenclature will be awarded on 15 December 2016, an Honorary Doctor of Laws to the Hon Julia Gillard.

AWARDS CONFERRED IN 2016

Eleven honorary degrees were awarded in 2016:

NAME AND CITATION	HONORARY DEGREE
The Hon Julia Gillard for distinguished public service, especially promoting education opportunities in Australia, especially to groups under-represented in higher education.	Honorary Doctor of Laws
Professor Michel Armand for significant contributions to research in the field of energy storage technologies with particular emphasis on lithium battery development and research in ionic liquids.	Deakin Honorary Doctorate
Professor Yongxian Zhang for his outstanding contribution to the understanding of Australia in China and to improving Australia-China relations.	Deakin Honorary Doctorate
Ms Jenni Lightowlers for outstanding service to Deakin University as Deputy Chancellor from 2008 to 2015, a member of University Council from 2004 to 2015 and for significant and sustained contribution to research in Australia as an expert advisor on innovation and commercialisation.	Deakin Honorary Doctorate
Lieutenant General David Morrison AO (Retd) for outstanding leadership in the Australian Army and broader community, especially in combatting discrimination and sexism.	Deakin Honorary Doctorate
Emeritus Professor Gillian Triggs for her eminent contribution to education, advocacy and public service in the field of human rights and international law.	Deakin Honorary Doctorate
Mr David Morgan for outstanding service to Deakin University as Chancellor from 2006 to 2015 and as a member of the University Council from 2000 to 2015, and for championing the Geelong region and its transition to new manufacturing and knowledge industries.	Deakin Honorary Doctorate

NAME AND CITATION	HONORARY DEGREE
Mr Bill Forrest AM for distinguished service to the arts and especially education for arts management professionals.	Doctor of Letters
Ms Dalal Smiley for distinguished service to the Australian community, especially to social inclusion and cultural diversity.	Doctor of Laws
Dr David Thodey for distinguished service in the science and technological community.	Doctor of Science
Professor Bevis Hutchinson for distinguished service in the scientific and technological community, especially in relation to the textures of materials.	Doctor of Science

CONSOLIDATED LIST OF ALL HONORARY DEGREES CONFERRED

A list of all honorary degrees is maintained on the University's website at <u>http://www.deakin.edu.au/about-deakin/reputation/honorary-awards</u>.

Honorary degree recipients are also listed in programs for each graduation ceremony.

Dr Glenn Nicholls Council Secretary 8 December 2016