

Current membership of the European Council

The European Council consists of the 27 Heads of State or Government of the EU Member States, who are voting members, together with the President of the European Council and the President of the European Commission, who have no vote (Article 15(2) TEU). The chart shows the current members, the national office they hold and their most recent European political affiliation, as well as the year their membership of the institution began.



Images taken from the European Council website – $\ensuremath{\mathbb{G}}$ European Union.

Political affiliation of members



EPP S&D ECR Renew Europe Independent

Recent developments

The length of an individual Head of State or Government's membership of the European Council is not set down in the EU Treaties, but is instead directly linked to changes in the composition of national governments within the EU Member States. There are thus significant variations between Member States, reflecting the various electoral cycles and frequency in leadership changes in these countries. As a result, some individual Heads of State or Government may be participating in their very first meeting of the European Council, whereas others might have participated for ten years or more. In the period since February 2015, there have been changes in membership on average every two months. Since the previous edition of this publication, in June 2022, national and European political developments have led to a number of changes in the European Council's membership, set outbelow.

Changes of members and their status

Newest member of the European Council

Since 22 June 2022, following a vote of no confidence in the Bulgarian Parliament, Bulgaria has had an interim government, and parliamentary elections were held on <u>2 October 2022</u>. In accordance with established practice, President Rumen Radev is currently representing the country in the European Council rather than the interim prime minister. Having participated in the informal European Council meeting of 7 October, President Radev will attend EU leaders' meetings until a new government takes office.

As a result of the Swedish parliamentary elections of <u>11 September 2022</u>, Ulf Kristersson became the new Prime Minister of Sweden on <u>17 October 2022</u>. He will attend the European Council for the first time at the 20-21 October 2022 meeting.

Members' changes in status

Following the resignation of the Italian Prime Minister, Mario Draghi, on 21 July, Italy has an interim government. The subsequent parliamentary election on 25 September resulted in a majority for a bloc of conservative and right-wing parties. Mario Draghi will continue to attend European Council meetings on behalf of Italy until a new government takes office.

Expected changes in membership in the near future

Following the election in Italy, Giorgia Meloni <u>is expected</u> to form a right-wing government by the end of October 2022, and would then become a member of the European Council.

Changes in the balance between political party affiliations

As a result of the change of government in Sweden, the European Council currently includes eight members from the EPP, seven from Renew Europe/ALDE, six from the S&D/PES, two from the ECR, and four independent or non-affiliated members.¹

NB The Romanian constitution requires the country's President not to be a member of any political party. However, Klaus Iohannis, previously a member of an EPP-affiliated party, still regularly attends EPP pre-European Council meetings.

Taking into account the expected changes in Italy, the European Council would then include eight members from the EPP, seven from Renew Europe/ALDE, six from the S&D/PES, three from the ECR, and three independent or non-affiliated members.

This document is prepared for, and addressed to, the Members and staff of the European Parliament as background material to assist them in their parliamentary work. The content of the document is the sole responsibility of its author(s) and any opinions expressed herein should not be taken to represent an official position of the Parliament. Reproduction and translation for non-commercial purposes are authorised, provided the source is acknowledged and the European Parliament is given prior notice and sent a copy. © European Union, 2022.