Svoboda | Graniru | BBC Russia | Golosameriki | Facebook

Legacy website of the International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia

Since the ICTY’s closure on 31 December 2017, the Mechanism maintains this website as part of its mission to preserve and promote the legacy of the UN International Criminal Tribunals.

 Visit the Mechanism's website.

ICTY Legacy Dialogues Conference - Sarajevo 2017


22 - 24 June 2017
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina

A conference reflecting on the legacy of the ICTY
and how others can build upon its achievements


Building on the efforts already undertaken by the ICTY in generating legacy discussions and legacy-related projects, the Trbunal will hold a final legacy conference to contribute to the ongoing debate among a wide variety of stakeholders. This occasion offers an opportunity for local, regional and international actors to discuss aspects of the Tribunal’s role and legacy in several key areas.

The goal of the conference is to enable others to build on the achievements the ICTY has made over its 24 year history. The vision is for a series of dynamic dialogues with those who can take what the ICTY has developed forward into new areas, with a particular focus on the role of national actors. The conference will explore how the work of the ICTY can feed responses to conflict-related atrocities and crimes at a national level in a number of fields, while also benefiting from the transfer of insights gained at the national level.

At this conference, legacy will not simply be addressed as a static assessment of the ICTY’s work, but rather as a dynamic discourse and transformation process – a sharing of experience and knowledge. Only through a dynamic and open process will the ultimate goal of advancing and bolstering the rule of law be achieved.

Thursday, 22 June 2017

Conference Inauguration


Judge Carmel Agius, President, ICTY
Serge Brammertz, Prosecutor, ICTY/IRMCT
John Hocking, Registrar, ICTY
Dragan Čović, Member of the Presidency of Bosnia and Herzegovina

Panel I: Discussion on Normative Legacy


Kimberly Prost, former ICTY ad litem Judge, current Chef de Cabinet to the President of the International Criminal Court


Jennifer Trahan, Associate Clinical Professor, New York University Centre for Global Affairs
Eve La Haye, Legal Adviser, International Committee of the Red Cross
Judge Hilmo Vučinić, Judge at the Court of Bosnia and Herzegovina
Mark Drumbl, Professor of Law, Washington and Lee University, and Director of the Transnational Law Institute

Panel II: Discussion on Gender Justice Legacy


Serge Brammertz, Prosecutor, ICTY/IRMCT


Claudia Hoefer, Senior Legal Officer in Chambers, ICTY
Michelle Jarvis, Deputy to the Prosecutor, ICTY
Kirsten Campbell, Goldsmiths College, University of London
Adrijana Hanušić Bećirović, TRIAL International

Panel III: Discussion on Non-Judicial Legacy


Aurélie Roche-Mair, Programme Director at the International Bar Association, former Legal Officer in ICTY Chambers


Marko Milanović, Associate Professor in Law at the University of Nottingham
Rosa Aloisi, Assistant Professor of Political Science at Trinity University
Jacqueline R. McAllister, Assistant Professor of Political Science at Kenyon College
Janine Natalya Clark, Associate Professor in Gender, International Criminal Law and Transitional Justice at the University of Birmingham, United Kingdom

Friday, 23 June 2017

Panel IV: Discussion on Operational Legacy


Michelle Jarvis, Deputy to the Prosecutor, ICTY


Robert Reid, Chief of Operations, Office of the Prosecutor, ICTY/IRMCT
Alan Tieger, Senior Prosecutor, Kosovo Specialist Prosecutor's Office; former Senior Trial Attorney, Office of the Prosecutor, ICTY
Kweku Vanderpuye, Senior Trial Lawyer, Office of the Prosecutor, International Criminal Court (ICC), and former Trial Attorney, Office of the Prosecutor, ICTY
Serge Brammertz, Prosecutor, ICTY/IRMCT
Gordana Tadić, acting Chief Prosecutor, Prosecutor’s Office of Bosnia and Herzegovina

Panel V: Discussion on Defence and Fair Trials Legacy


Marie O'Leary, ADC Vice President, Legal Counsel at ICC Office of Public Counsel for Defence and former ADC-ICTY Head of Office


Judge Wolfgang Schomburg, former ICTY Judge
Jasmina Pjanić, Director, Criminal Defence Section (OKO) of Ministry of Justice of Bosnia and Herzegovina
Vasvija Vidović, former ICTY Defence Counsel and Lawyer in Bosnia and Herzegovina
Tomislav Višnjić, ICTY Defence Counsel, Lawyer in Serbia and former Vice President of ADC-ICTY

Panel VI: Discussion on Participatory Legacy: “The Witness Experience”


Kate Mackintosh, Deputy Registrar, ICTY


Teufika Ibrahimefendić, Head of Vive Žene, Center for Therapy and Rehabilitation, Tuzla, and former ICTY expert witness
Jasna Zečević, President of Viva Žene, Center for Therapy and Rehabilitation, Tuzla, and former ICTY expert witness
Kimi L. King, J.D./Ph.D, University of North Texas, Department of Political Science
Helena Vranov-Schoorl, Victims and Witnesses Support, ICTY/IRMCT
Alma Taso-Deljković, Head of Witness Support Office at the Court of Bosnia and Herzegovina, Member of the Board of Directors of the Trust Fund for Victims associated with the ICC

Panel VII: Discussion on Historical Legacy


Carsten Stahn, Professor of International Criminal Law and Global Justice at Leiden Law School, as well as Programme Director of the Grotius Centre


Harmen van der Wilt, Professor of International Criminal Law at the University of Amsterdam
Thijs B. Bouwknegt, Researcher at the NIOD Institute for War, Holocaust and Genocide Studies, and Assistant Professor in Genocide Studies at the University of Amsterdam
Iva Vukušić, former Journalist specializing in ICTY trials and current PhD Candidate at the History Department of Utrecht University
Andy Aydın-Aitchison, Senior Lecturer in Criminology, School of Law, University of Edinburgh

Saturday, 24th June 2017

Panel VIII: Discussion on Outreach Legacy: “Communicating Justice”


Petar Finci, Outreach Programme, ICTY


Saranda Bogujevci, Bogujevci Family Foundation
Nataša Kandić, Regional Coordinator of the RECOM initiative
Dennis Gratz, MP in the Parliament of Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina
Mirko Klarin, Director of the SENSE News Agency


Maja Graca, First prize winner of the 2013 Essay-writing competition, Youth Outreach Project
Saša Miličević, First prize winner of the 2016 Essay-writing competition, Youth Outreach Project

Closing Session


Ambassador Lars-Gunnar Wigemark, Head of the Delegation of the European Union (EU) to Bosnia and Herzegovina and EU Special Representative in Bosnia and Herzegovina
John Hocking, Registrar, ICTY
Judge Carmel Agius, President, ICTY
Miguel de Serpa Soares, Under-Secretary-General for Legal Affairs and United Nations Legal Counsel